Leslie Gore

You may think you don’t know who Leslie Gore is, but if you’ve ever sang the lyrics “It’s my party and I’ll cry if I want to, cry if I want to…” then you would be mistaken. She is the “girl group era” sweetheart who brought us You Don’t Own Me, Judy’s Turn to Cry (the sequel to It’s My Party), Sunshine Lollipops and Rainbows, and more.

This 1960’s and 70’s pop icon has been playing constantly through the not so great sound system of my computer speakers for the past month now. I consider myself an actor who moves really well, but by no means a dancer, so of course when asked how I wanted to contribute to In on It as a Whistler company member I told Meg I’d love to assist her and why not throw myself in as choreographer for the dance number in the script Sunshine Lollipops and Rainbows.

The assistant to the director part of my role will start this Saturday with our first rehearsal, but I’ve been dancing up a storm in my bedroom on a regular morning stringing together dance moves. As a non-dancer choreographer I have immersed myself in U-Tube videos galore. The script calls for something a bit aerobically challenging for one of the characters and overall just a lot of silly fun. I’ve been meshing 60’s and 70’s dance moves with a little bit of 1920’s Charleston mixed in. Thank god for a co-worker who is an actual dancer and could break down some of the foot work for me!

So now I’m at the point where I’ve got a bunch of really interesting moves, some of them are strung together to actually fit with the music and the others are hanging around waiting for me to figure out just where they go and how they move from one to the other. A couple of weeks ago I thought “why did I want to do this again?” and now I am really looking forward to our first dance rehearsal at the beginning of November. Between then and now I’m going to keep dancing around my room getting a good workout and finishing putting this dance together, and perhaps you will google Leslie Gore and start adding her to your i-tunes soundtrack if she is not already a part of it.

This entry was posted in dance, In On It. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

