Meet the Europeans – Emily Woods Hogue

Emily returns to Whistler after creating the beautiful costumes for One Flea Spare last season. This time, she is charged with costuming 11 actors playing roughly 30 roles. In full period costume. She really really rocks.

Who are you? Where are you from?

My name is Emily Woods Hogue, and I am from the beautiful wilderness of Southern New Hampshire.

Have you worked with Whistler before?

I designed the costumes for One Flea Spare last season.

How did you get involved with The Europeans?

I heard some scuttlebutt about The Europeans last winter, after the initial staged reading, and on closing night of One Flea Spare, I asked Meg if Whistler wanted a costume designer for The Europeans… more specifically, ME. And lucky for me, they did!

What, to you, is the most exciting aspect of The Europeans?

The most exciting aspect of The Europeans to me is the filth. I feel like Barker’s gruesome and intense attention to detail as a playwright gives me the license to be just as gruesome and detail-oriented as a costume designer. For me, this translates to lots of research, lots of hand-sewing, and long nights with bleach, coffee grounds, matches, razorblades, and a cheese grater.

This entry was posted in cast introductions, Emily Woods Hogue, The Europeans. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

